Planning to Plan

I’m going to sit down, walk, stand on my head (not really), adopt whatever position I need to, and think about what I’m going to keep and what I’m going to toss. I’m not talking about items here (that’s easier), but projects.

I’ve accumulated a number of projects over the past few years, of varying sizes, demanding varying amounts of focus and time. I haven’t tossed any projects in years and there are at least one or two that I know I should have stepped away from years ago.

This isn’t to say that the projects were ill informed, bad ideas, not necessary. It’s to say that situations change, people change, and people gotta change with their situations.

And by the way, these are all projects in a strict sense of the word, these projects are all things I decided to do at some point and have continued to do. None of these projects are people, friends, family, anything like that.

I told myself for about 20 seconds that I could start with the smaller decisions, then work my way up to the larger. Like start with “should I or should I not attend this or that event?” and work up to “should I resign my spot in this group or that group?” But I quickly decided that won’t really work. Some of the smallers depend on the biggers.

There’s lots going on this week. Maybe this weekend I can devote some time to all this and have some things decided by Sunday evening.

 

